New minimum wage in New Jersey effective July 1
Amy McAndrew |
This is a reminder to all employers with workers in New Jersey. Effective July 1, 2019, the minimum wage in New Jersey rose to $10.00 an hour for most workers. The rate will increase by $1.00 per hour in subsequent years until it reaches $15.00 per hour in 2024. Notably, this change does not include all workers. Seasonal workers and workers at business that employ five or fewer employees will not reach $15.00 an hour until 2026. Farm workers will hit $12.50/hour in 2024, after which it would be left up to state officials in the executive branch whether to raise wages further. Tipped workers, who currently have a minimum hourly wage of $2.13, will see it climb to $5.13 an hour by 2024.
Employers with questions regarding changes in the law should consult with experienced human resources professionals and/or labor and employment counsel. For MEA members, the Hotline and a Member Legal Services attorney are available to provide this assistance.
About the Author
Amy McAndrew is MEA’s Director of Member Legal Services and has over twenty years of experience as a labor and employment attorney.